Research has shown that 1922 was the beginning of air traffic control as we know it. IFATCA plans to celebrate this centennial in 2022 and has created a task force to prepare for this event.

The main goal of these celebrations is to promote the profession and IFATCA to the outside. The benefits would be to make the profession better known to the general public and attracting new ATCOs.

The 100 Years of ATC Task Force was formally established at the 2019 Annual Conference in Conchal, Costa Rica.

The TF is currently working on a commemorative hard cover book planned to be published for the 2022 Conference; a series of short videos and podcasts/interviews for social media as well as preparing a virtual exhibition to be displayed in museums around the world in 2021/2022. In addition  the TF will be looking for States to issue commemorative stamps and  investigating other activities to celebrate the centennial in 2022.

Chair: Philippe Domogala (EGATS)

Members: Philip Marien (EGATS), Marc Baumgartner (Swiss ATCA), Nicola nì Riada (IATCA)

Corresponding members: Duncan auld (PCX), Ignacio Baca (EVPT), John Freeman (GATCO), John Levesley (UK ATC Historian), Luis Barbero (GATCO), Ian Walker (Croydon museum), Jez Pidgen (GATCO) and Philippe Renault (French ATC Historian).

Responsible EB member: Helena Sjöström, Deputy President

The worldwide body of air traffic controllers consists of professionals of different gender, race, religion, nationality, sexual orientation and age. In the workplace as well as in organizations such as IFATCA, equality means to ascertain people are given equal opportunities, equal pay and are appreciated and accepted for their differences.

Research shows that organizations that respect and value diversity are better able to attract and retain high performers. Such organizations improve operational performance by enlarging the skill range, and thus benefit from diversity.

Diversity is not limited to gender, but also applies to race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, age and where it is possible, disability.

The EDETF (Equality, Diversity and Ethics Task Force) was established during the Conference in Conchal 2019. The scope is to further research the ratio between male and female ATCOs, diversity among ATCOs and in management within the ATM industry. The Task Force also gathers knowledge and information in order to assist MAs in the future work for equality and diversity in the four IFATCA regions.

Chair: Sverre Ivar Elsbakk, Norway

Members: Maria Serrano, Spain (secretary); Katie Mason, UK; Giusy Sciacca, Italy; Tonny Kepler, Uganda; Rose Mary Kyalo, Kenya; Ron Vega, Costa Rica, Patricia Gilbert, USA; Cheryl Chen, Taiwan; Greg Okerowa, NZ

Responsible EB member:  Helena Sjöström, Deputy President

The advent of Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) introduces a radical change in aviation as we know it. Many questions arise but few answers are clear. Despite industry pushes for quick integration of what are usually called ‘drones’, the current categories of airspace and flight rules are not adequate to accommodate the newcomers and new procedures and regulations are required.

The RPATF was first established after the Conference of Ghana 2018 as a specialized team on UAS operations.  The scope is to make the knowledge continuously gathered from the relevant stakeholders available to the Federation and to develop Guidance Materials and Policy Statements also in collaboration with the Standing Committees.

Chair: Eugenio Diotalevi (ITA)

Members: Jens Lehmann (GER), Andreas Charalambides (CYP), David Guerin (UK), Felix Gottwald (GER, IFALPA).

Corresponding Members: Al Shaw (NZ), Halvar Myrseth (NOR), Anders LieblA (DK), Benjamin van der Sanden (NL), Chris Sailes (CAN), George Mbugua (KEN), Lidia Ruseva (BG), Samson Akpore (NG), Niels Verhoeven (IFALPA)

Responsible EB member: Ignacio Baca, EVP Technical


360 Rue Saint-Jacques,
Suite 2002,
Montreal, Quebec,
Canada H2Y 1P5


Tel: +1 514 866 7040
Fax: +1 514 866 7612
Email: [email protected]
Hours: 0900-1700 (EST) Mon-Fri

Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy Policy

Copyright 2021 © All Rights Reserved