The European region is characterised by many countries and following that many air forces and ANSPs. The airspace has almost 100% radar coverage and a high level of technological support to achieve high ATM standards. The region, lead by first Eurocontrol and later by the European Commission, has invested and still is investing immensely in improving and achieving high level of safety and efficiency. This has lead to situation where improvement of performance is driven by introduction of more technology and the implementation of performance regulating initiatives. The most prominent of this is the European performance scheme, which is requiring ANSPs to reduce cost and still achieve the same level of safety. All in all that ANSPs are under pressure to save money and reduce costs for the airlines and the passengers. Because many ANSPs have reduced costs by reducing investments in new technology and training the challenge in Europe for the years to come is to make sure that the ATCOs are at the center of developments, to maintain service and to secure the quality of training is being compromised.

eurArtboard 1

Member Associations

Albania Albania
Albanian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Austria Austria
Austrian Air Traffic Controllers Association

Belarus Belarus
Belarusian Trade Union of Transport and Communications Worker –BelProfTrans

Belgium Belgium
Belgian Guild of Air Traffic Controllers

Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia & Herzegovina
Bosnia & Herzegovina Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Bulgaria Bulgaria
Bulgarian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Croatia Croatia
Croatian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Cyprus Cyprus
Cyprus Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Czechia Czechia
Czech Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Denmark Denmark
Danish Air Traffic Controllers’ Association

Estonia Estonia
Estonian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

eurocontrol EGATS
Eurocontrol Guild of Air Traffic Services

Finland Finland
Finnish Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Georgia Georgia
Association of Air Traffic Controllers of Georgia

Germany Germany
Gewerkschaft der Flugsicherung

Greece Greece
Greek Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Hungary Hungaria
Hungarian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Iceland Iceland
Icelandic Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Ireland Ireland
Traffic Controllers' Association

Israel Israel
Air Traffic Controllers' Association of Israel

Italy Italy
Associazione Nazionale Assistenti Controllori della Navigazione Aerea

Jordan Jordan
Jordanian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Kosovo Kosovo
Trade Union of Kosovo Air Traffic Controllers

Latvia Latvia
Latvian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Lithuania Lithuania
The Lithuanian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Luxembourg Luxembourg
Luxembourg Guild of Air Traffic Controller

North Macedonia North Macedonia
Macedonian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Malta Malta
Malta Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Montenegro Montenegro
Air Traffic Controllers' Association of Montenegro

Netherlands Netherlands
The Netherlands Guild of Air Traffic Controllers

Norway Norway
Norwegian Air Traffic Controllers’ Association

Poland Poland
Polish Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Portugal Portugal
Associação Portuguesa dos Controladores de Tráfego Aéreo

Romania Romania
Romanian Air Traffic Conrollers' Association

Russia Russia
Federal Air Traffic Controllers' Unions of Russia

Serbia Serbia
Serbian Air Traffic Controllers Association

Slovakia Slovakia
The Air Traffic Controllers’ Association of the Slovak Republic

Slovenia Slovenia
Slovenian Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Spain Spain
Unión Sindical de Controladores Aéreos (Spain)

Sweden Sweden
Swedish Air Traffic Controllers’ Association

Switzerland Switzerland
Swiss Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Turkey Turkey
Turkish Air Traffic Controllers' Association

Ukraine Ukraine
Ukrainian Federation ofAir Traffic Controllers' Union

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Kingdom
United Kingdom Guild of Air Traffic Control Officers

IFATCA EUR - Regional Support Group

The people in the IFATCA European regional support group are the IFATCA representatives in the different working groups within Europe. They represent the Member Associations and also help shaping the IFATCA view on issues concerning professionalism and the everyday life of the ATCOs.


 EVP Europe - Frédéric Deleau (EGATS)

Fred has been an Air Traffic Controller since 1993. He is currently based in Belgium and works as en-route controller in the EUROCONTROL's Upper Area Control Centre in Maastricht (NL).

IFATCA Involvement: As Executive Vice President for Europe, he oversees the Federation's activities and involvement in the various groups and bodies in the region. As such, he also acts as the focal point for the representatives below. Contact EVP Europe in case you need to engage with one of the region's representatives.



Marc works as an operational air traffic controller and Centre Supervisor in Geneva ACC for over 25 years. Until 2021, Marc chaired the Eurocontrol Performance Review Commission, of which he was been a member from 2011 until December 2016. Until April 2010, Marc was President and CEO of the International Federation of Air Traffic Controllers’ Associations (IFATCA), representing the technical and professional interests of air traffic controllers from more than 130 countries around the globe. He currently coordinates the SESAR and EASA activities of IFATCA and represents the operational staff in the governing Body of SESAR 3.


Liaison Officer European Union - Paul Neering (NL)

Paul is a former ATCO at Tower Amsterdam and Maastricht, APP radar controller at Maastricht, OJTI in all functions until retirement. Paul was a member of IFATCA's Standing Committee IV and PLC from 2000 till 2005 for The Netherlands. Since 2005 he is the Liaison officer to the EU. Paul still advises the PLC, helps to organise the Eurocontrol/IFATCA prosecutor expert training courses and represents IFATCA in different fora. Since September 2016, Paul chairs the Expert Group on Human Dimensions of SES.